Faculty of Letter (FS)

Faculty of Letters – formerly the Faculty of Literature and Arts Teaching – was established in 1954 together with the establishment of the Teacher Education College (Perguruan Tinggi Pendidikan Guru / PTPG) which was the forerunner of UM. Currently FS manages 6 departments that have 11 undergraduate study programs; 2 D3 study programs; 5 Master (S2) study programs; and 2 Doctoral (S3) study programs.

  • Indonesian Literature
    • Indonesian and Regional Language and Literature Education (S1)
    • Indonesian Language Literature (S1)
    • Indonesian Language Education (S2)
    • Indonesian Language Education (S3)
    • Librarianship Science (S1)
    • Librarianship (D-3)
  • English Literature
    • English Language Education (S1)
    • English Language Education (S2)
    • English Language Education (S3)
    • English Language and Literature (S1)
  • Arabic Literature
    • Arabic Language Education (S1)
    • Arabic Language Education (S2)
  • German Literature
    • German Language Education (S1)
    • Mandarin Language Education (S1)
  • Art and Design
    • Visual Art Education (S1)
    • Visual Art Education (S2)
    • Dancing Art Education (S1)
    • Visual Communication Design (S1)
    • Animated Game Design (D3)

State-of-the-art Facilities

Each department is equipped with a language laboratory. Indonesian Literature Department has a multimedia and drama laboratory. English Department boasts its Self-Access Center (ESAC). The Department of Arabic Language Education has Martadza, a unique language laboratory. German Literature Department has its prided Mediotek, and for the department of Art and Design, an array studios and laboratories is provided for the students and teaching staff: a recording studio, photography studio, dancing studio, arts and craft studio, and a ceramic workshop. The faculty also provides language and computer laboratories accessible by those who need them.